Blockchain and trusted execution create trust

High Level Software

SCS combined blockchain technology with trusted execution environments. This leads to confidentiality, auditability and transparency in the processing of sensitive data.

  • Situation

    Since the revelations by Edward Snowden, a lot has happened in terms of data protection: Today, the majority of digital communication is encrypted.
    However, data is often processed unencrypted and without auditability, which is a crucial weakness in the overall system. Cyber criminals like to exploit this.

  • Solution SCS

    SCS combines blockchain technology with trusted execution environments. This ensures data protection for both B2B and B2C applications. In addition, it creates auditable transparency about processes and the use of sensitive data.

  • Added value

    The SCS solution complements current solutions for "data in transit" and "data at rest" with the protection of "data in use". For example, patients can release their health data for precisely defined analyses and can be assured that no one but the patient himself has read access to the data and that only the agreed analyses can be carried out.

Project insights

We have become accustomed to the fact that we have to trust our IT administrators. Whereas in the past these were employees in the same company, today they are often bought-in cloud platforms or perhaps soon decentralised systems such as blockchains. Administrators can read and modify any data processed on a machine they manage. Unfortunately, this applies not only to the administrators we trust, but also to hackers who can gain administrator privileges. No company, no matter how qualified, is immune to such attacks.

Trusted Execution Environments (TEEs) provide a remedy here. In simple terms, a TEE is a processor-within-a-processor that can manage its own keys and only executes programmes whose fingerprint corresponds unchanged to the original. The guarantee for this is provided by the manufacturer of the processor, who ensures in hardware that no one has access to the internal keys of the TEE and that no one can read its working memory. Each TEE can be uniquely authenticated by the manufacturer, which means that every user can ensure that their Programis really running on a TEE - even if the machine is physically located in a remote data centre.

Overview of Integrite and Susbratee architecture.
ntegritee builds on Polkadot. Sidechains are validated by TEEs, which greatly simplifies and accelerates the consensus process. Actions on the sidechains take place confidentially.

One of many use cases for TEEs is e-ticketing with privacy protection: Today, various "check-in" apps exist where operators analyse the movement profile of passengers in order to charge an appropriate ticket. Thanks to TEEs, such a service could be offered, demonstrably without making the passenger's movement profile visible to anyone but the passenger. The passenger's app would send the movement profile in encrypted form to the TEE. There, the ticket price would be calculated within the protected enclave and transferred to the payment process. To gain the trust of passengers, the operator should disclose the code executed in the TEE for external or even public auditing.

On behalf of Integritee, the Web3 Foundation in Zug and the Polkadot Council, Supercomputing Systems is developing a framework that massively simplifies the complexity of blockchain and trusted execution for developers and users. The combination of TEE technology with blockchain makes the use of TEE traceable and provable for everyone and creates transparency for processes that analyse user data.

Thanks to this solution from SCS, even smaller companies can implement "security by design" without becoming dependent on a cloud platform. And global corporations can increase their credibility in terms of data handling by enabling public auditability along with compliance with data protection laws.

The project is supported by the Integritee.
The project is supported by the web3 Foundation.

Related projects

IOBnet - Exchange platform for ophthalmologists

The IOBnet platform offers ophthalmologists the possibility to exchange anonymized cases with experts at any time. With the creation ... learn more

Cloud platform for medical measurement data

The spirometry devices from ndd Medizintechnik AG make a significant contribution to the early detection of lung diseases. Their measurement data are always ... learn more

SDAT data hub for the Swiss electricity industry

The data hub simplifies and standardises market communication. For the company Swisseldex AG, an amalgamation of various ... learn more

Secure communication thanks to the V-ZUG PKI from SCS

Digitalisation enables new business opportunities. These new opportunities also bring new challenges. The devices are the ... learn more

Planning and calculation software for Burckhardt Compression

Burckhardt Compression is the global market leader in the field of reciprocating compressor systems. The compressors are manufactured with over 2300 employees in ... learn more
Show all projects
Alain Brenzikofer Decentralized Systems How can I help you?

Blockchain und Trusted Execution schaffen Vertrauen

High Level Software

SCS kombinierte die Blockchain Technologie mit Trusted Execution Environments. Das führt zu Vertraulichkeit, Auditierbarkeit und Transparenz beim Prozessieren von schützenswerten Daten.

  • Situation

    Seit den Enthüllungen von Edward Snowden ist punkto Datenschutz einiges passiert: Digitale Kommunikation findet heute mehrheitlich verschlüsselt statt.
    Die Verarbeitung von Daten erfolgt aber häufig unverschlüsselt und ohne Auditierbarkeit, was eine entscheidende Schwäche im Gesamtsystem darstellt. Das wird gerne von Cyberkriminellen ausgenutzt.

  • Lösung SCS

    SCS kombiniert Blockchain Technologie mit Trusted Execution Environments. Das gewährleistet sowohl für B2B wie auch für B2C Anwendungen Datenschutz. Zusätzlich schafft das eine auditierbare Transparenz über Prozesse und die Verwendung schützenswerter Daten.

  • Mehrwert

    Die SCS Lösung ergänzt heutige Lösungen für «data in transit» und «data at rest» mit dem Schutz von «data in use». So können z.B. Patienten Ihre Gesundheitsdaten für genau definierte Analysen freigeben und können versichert sein, dass niemand ausser dem Patienten selbst Lesezugriff auf die Daten kriegt und dass nur genau die vereinbarten Analysen durchgeführt werden können.

Projekteinblicke

Wir haben uns an den Umstand gewöhnt, dass wir unseren IT-Administratoren vertrauen müssen. Waren dies früher noch Angestellte im gleichen Betrieb, sind dies heute oft eingekaufte Cloud-Plattformen oder vielleicht bald dezentrale Systeme wie Blockchains. Administratoren können sämtliche Daten lesen und verändern, die auf einer von ihnen verwalteten Maschine verarbeitet werden. Leider gilt dies nicht nur für die Administratoren unseres Vertrauens, sondern auch für Hacker, welche sich Administrator-Privilegien verschaffen können. Vor solchen Angriffen ist kein noch so qualifizierter Betrieb gefeit.

Trusted Execution Environments (TEEs) schaffen hier Abhilfe. Ein TEE ist vereinfacht als Prozessor-im-Prozessor zu verstehen, welcher eigene Schlüssel verwalten kann und nur Programme ausführt, deren Fingerabdruck unverändert dem Original entspricht. Die Garantie hierfür übernimmt der Hersteller des Prozessors, welcher in Hardware sicherstellt, dass niemand Zugriff auf die internen Schlüssel des TEE erhält und auch nicht dessen Arbeitsspeicher auslesen kann. Jedes TEE ist für den Hersteller eindeutig authentifizierbar, wodurch jeder Benutzer sicherstellen kann, dass sein Programm wirklich auf einem TEE läuft – auch wenn sich die Maschine physisch in einem entfernten Datencenter befindet.

Übersicht der Integrite und der Susbratee Architektur.
ntegritee baut auf Polkadot auf. Sidechains werden von TEEs validiert, was den Konsensprozess stark vereinfacht und beschleunigt. Aktionen auf den Sidechains finden vertraulich statt.

Einer von vielen Anwendungsfällen für TEEs ist e-Ticketing mit Schutz der Privatsphäre: Heute existieren verschiedene «check-in» Apps, bei welchen Betreiber das Bewegungsprofil der Passagiere auswerten, um ein angemessenes Ticket zu verrechnen. Dank TEEs könnte ein solcher Dienst angeboten werden, nachweislich ohne das Bewegungsprofil der Passagiere für irgendjemanden ausser dem Passagier sichtbar zu machen. Die App der Reisenden würde das Bewegungsprofil in verschlüsselter Form an das TEE schicken. Dort würde der Ticketpreis innerhalb der geschützten Enklave errechnet und dem Zahlungsprozess übergeben. Um das Vertrauen der Passagiere zu gewinnen sollte der Betreiber den Code, welcher im TEE ausgeführt wird, für externe oder sogar öffentliche Auditierung offenlegen.

Supercomputing Systems entwickelt im Auftrag von Integritee, der Web3 Stiftung in Zug und des Polkadot Council ein Framework, welches die Komplexität von Blockchain und Trusted Execution für Entwickler und Benutzer massiv vereinfacht. Die Kombination von TEE Technologie mit Blockchain macht die Verwendung von TEE für alle nachvollziehbar und beweisbar und schafft Transparenz für Prozesse, welche Benutzerdaten analysieren.

Dank dieser Lösung von SCS können auch kleinere Betriebe «Security by Design» umsetzen, ohne in eine Abhängigkeit einer Cloud-Plattformen zu begeben. Und globale Konzerne können Ihre Glaubwürdigkeit bezüglich ihres Umgangs mit Daten erhöhen, weil öffentliche Auditierbarkeit gemeinsam mit der Einhaltung von Datenschutzgesetzen möglich wird.

Das Projekt wird durch die Integritee unterstützt.
Das Projekt wird durch die web3 Foundation unterstützt.

Verwandte Projekte

Cloud-Plattform für medizinische Messdaten

Die Spirometrie-Geräte der ndd Medizintechnik AG tragen wesentlich zur Früherkennung von Lungenkrankheiten bei. Deren Messdaten werden immer ... mehr erfahren

SDAT Datahub für die Schweizer Strombranche

Die Datendrehscheibe vereinfacht und standardisiert die Marktkommunikation. Für die Firma Swisseldex AG, einem Zusammenschluss verschiedener ... mehr erfahren

KI erkennt Hüftfehl­stellungen

Eine Hüftfehlstellung bei Neugeborenen kann viele Operationen nötig machen. SCS hat eine KI entwickelt, welche solche Fehlstellungen ... mehr erfahren

AI at the edge – Zellen zählen

SCS entwickelte einen Deep Learning Algorithmus, welcher im Mikroskopiesystem die Anzahl der Zellen auf einem Bild bestimmt. Die AI wurde dabei für ... mehr erfahren

Sichere Kommunikation dank der V-ZUG PKI von SCS

Digitalisierung ermöglicht neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten. Diese neuen Möglichkeiten bringen auch neue Herausforderungen. Die Geräte sind den ... mehr erfahren
Alle Projekte anzeigen
Alain Brenzikofer Decentralized Systems Wie kann ich Ihnen weiterhelfen?