AI detects hip malpositions

AI

Hip deformities in newborns can require many operations. SCS has developed an AI that detects such deformities.

  • Problem

    A hip deformity in newborns can make various operations necessary in the course of life. To prevent this, it is sufficient to determine the Graf alpha and beta angles on the basis of an ultrasound image of the hip and, if necessary, to put on a brace for a few months for treatment. Doctors' current diagnoses are subjective and prone to error.

  • Solution

    Using training data consisting of ultrasound images, SCS was able to train various algorithms that allow an objective determination of the angles. In this way, the doctor can be supported.

  • Added value

    Doctors are alerted at an early stage to an error in the image acquisition and can rely on an objective and accurate angle determination. Many hip operations in the later future can thus be prevented.

Project insights

About 3 percent of all newborns are born with a hip deformity. If this deformity is detected by ultrasound examinations, it can be easily treated by putting a corset on the baby for several weeks (Figure 1). Undetected, this so-called hip dysplasia leads to hip surgery before the age of sixty in 30% of those affected.

The criterion for whether a malposition develops is the alpha angle according to Graf's method. An evaluation of the angles determined by doctors shows a strong tendency towards "borderline cases" at 60degrees that do not require treatment.

Picture left: Infant with flexion orthosis. Picture right: Skeleton model with drawn-in image plane of the ultrasound images.
Picture left: Infant with flexion orthosis. Picture right: Skeleton model with drawn-in image plane of the ultrasound images.

As an alternative, Machine Learning and Data Analytics - especially thanks to developments in image processing using Deep Learning - offers a way to determine the angle objectively and reproducibly. To confirm this expectation, SCS has conducted a study together with various experts and paediatricians [1] that can confirm this thesis [2].

Picture left: Distribution of angles determined by doctors in the dataset of the study. Picture on the right: Ultrasound image with lines drawn in for angle determination (yellow: doctor, red: algorithm).
Picture left: Distribution of angles determined by doctors in the dataset of the study. Picture on the right: Ultrasound image with lines drawn in for angle determination (yellow: doctor, red: algorithm).

For this purpose, the data basis was first cleaned by removing the overhang of borderline cases. Subsequently, a deep neural network was trained that predicts the lines on ultrasound images that determine the hip angle, analogous to the medical procedure. A comparison with data from paediatricians that were not used for training shows that our algorithm can reliably determine the angle.

[1] Partners: Stefan Essig MD, Thomas Baumann MD

[2] Reference: Oelen D, Kaiser P, Baumann T, et al. Accuracy of Trained Physicians is Inferior to Deep Learning-Based Algorithm for Determining Angles in Ultrasound of the Newborn Hip Ultrasound Med. 2020;10.1055/a-1177-0480. doi:10.1055/a-1177-0480.

Related projects

IOBnet - Exchange platform for ophthalmologists

The IOBnet platform offers ophthalmologists the possibility to exchange anonymized cases with experts at any time. With the creation ... learn more

Cloud platform for medical measurement data

The spirometry devices from ndd Medizintechnik AG make a significant contribution to the early detection of lung diseases. Their measurement data are always ... learn more

Predictive Alarm Detection

SBB ZKE measures the bearing and wheel temperatures of passing trains on the open track. SCS has trained an AI model that can measure the ... learn more

Detection of wheel faults with smart algorithms

Wheel faults lead to high stress on the railway infrastructure and generate noise. SCS has developed algorithms to detect wheel faults. Thus ... learn more

AI at the edge - counting cells

SCS developed a deep learning algorithm that determines the number of cells in an image in the microscopy system. The AI was developed for ... learn more
Show all projects
Dr Christof Bühler Life Science & Physics How can I help you?

KI erkennt Hüftfehl­stellungen

AI

Eine Hüftfehlstellung bei Neugeborenen kann viele Operationen nötig machen. SCS hat eine KI entwickelt, welche solche Fehlstellungen erkennt.

  • Problemstellung

    Eine Hüftfehlstellung bei Neugeborenen kann im Laufe des Lebens verschiedene Operationen nötig machen. Um das zu verhindern, genügt es, anhand einer Ultraschallaufnahme der Hüfte die Alpha- und Beta-Winkel nach Graf zu bestimmen und bei Bedarf zur Behandlung einige Monate ein Korsett anzulegen. Die aktuellen Diagnosen der Ärzte sind subjektiv und fehleranfällig.

  • Lösung

    Anhand von Trainingsdaten bestehend aus Ultraschallbildern konnte SCS verschiedene Algorithmen trainieren, die eine objektive Bestimmung der Winkel erlauben. So kann der Arzt unterstützt werden.

  • Mehrwert

    Ärzte werden frühzeitig auf einen Fehler bei der Bildaufnahme hingewiesen und können sich auf eine objektive und genaue Winkelbestimmung verlassen. Viele Hüftoperationen in der späteren Zukunft können so verhindert werden.

Projekteinblicke

Etwa 3 Prozent aller Neugeborenen kommen mit einer Hüftfehlstellung auf die Welt. Wenn diese Fehlstellung durch Ultraschalluntersuchungen erkannt wird, kann sie leicht behandelt werden, indem dem Baby über mehrere Wochen ein Korsett angelegt wird (Bild 1).  Unentdeckt führt diese sogenannte Hüftdysplasie bei 30% der Betroffenen zu einer Hüftoperation vor dem sechzigsten Lebensjahr.

Das Kriterium, ob sich eine Fehlstellung entwickelt, ist der Alpha-Winkel entsprechend der Methode von Graf. Eine Auswertung der von Ärzten bestimmten Winkel zeigt eine starke Tendenz zu „Grenzfällen“ bei 60Grad, die keine Behandlung erfordern.

Bild links: Kleinkind mit Flexionsorthese. Bild rechts: Skelettmodell mit eingezeichneter Bildebene der Ultraschallbilder
Bild links: Kleinkind mit Flexionsorthese. Bild rechts: Skelettmodell mit eingezeichneter Bildebene der Ultraschallbilder

Als Alternative dazu bietet Machine Learning und Data Analytics – insbesondere dank der Entwicklungen in der Bildverarbeitung mit Hilfe von Deep Learning – einen Weg zur objektiven und reproduzierbaren Ermittlung des Winkels. Um diese Erwartung zu bestätigen, hat SCS zusammen mit verschiedenen Experten und Kinderärzten [1] eine Studie durchgeführt, die diese These bestätigen kann [2].

Bild links: Verteilung der von Ärzten bestimmten Winkeln im Dataset der Studie. Bild rechts: Ultraschallbild mit eingezeichneten Linien zur Winkelbestimmung (gelb: Arzt, rot: Algorithmus)
Bild links: Verteilung der von Ärzten bestimmten Winkeln im Dataset der Studie. Bild rechts: Ultraschallbild mit eingezeichneten Linien zur Winkelbestimmung (gelb: Arzt, rot: Algorithmus)

Dafür wurde zunächst die Datengrundlage gesäubert, indem der Überhang an Grenzfällen entfernt wurde. Anschliessend wurde ein tiefes neuronales Netz trainiert, dass analog zum ärztlichen Vorgehen die Linien auf Ultraschallbildern, die den Hüftwinkel bestimmen, vorhersagt. Ein Vergleich mit Daten von Kinderärzten, die nicht zum Trainieren verwendet wurden, zeigt, dass unser Algorithmus den Winkel zuverlässig bestimmen kann.

[1] Partner: Dr. med. Stefan Essig, Dr. med Thomas Baumann

[2] Referenz: Oelen D, Kaiser P, Baumann T, et al. Accuracy of Trained Physicians is Inferior to Deep Learning-Based Algorithm for Determining Angles in Ultrasound of the Newborn Hip Ultraschall Med. 2020;10.1055/a-1177-0480. doi:10.1055/a-1177-0480

Verwandte Projekte

Cloud-Plattform für medizinische Messdaten

Die Spirometrie-Geräte der ndd Medizintechnik AG tragen wesentlich zur Früherkennung von Lungenkrankheiten bei. Deren Messdaten werden immer ... mehr erfahren

Predictive Alarm Detection

SBB ZKE misst auf der freien Strecke die Lager- und Radtemperaturen der vorbeifahrenden Züge. SCS hat ein KI Modell trainiert, welches angezogene ... mehr erfahren

Blockchain und Trusted Execution schaffen Vertrauen

SCS kombinierte die Blockchain Technologie mit Trusted Execution Environments. Das führt zu Vertraulichkeit, Auditierbarkeit und Transparenz beim ... mehr erfahren

Erkennung Radfehler mit smarter Algorithmik

Radfehler führen zu hoher Beanspruchung der Bahn-Infrastruktur und erzeugen Lärm. SCS hat Algorithmen zum Erkennen von Radfehlern entwickelt. Somit ... mehr erfahren

AI at the edge – Zellen zählen

SCS entwickelte einen Deep Learning Algorithmus, welcher im Mikroskopiesystem die Anzahl der Zellen auf einem Bild bestimmt. Die AI wurde dabei für ... mehr erfahren
Alle Projekte anzeigen
Dr. Christof Bühler Life Science & Physics Wie kann ich Ihnen weiterhelfen?