Control for the most powerful ship engine in the world

Embedded Software FPGA Development Hardware Environment

SCS has developed a versatile control system for internal combustion engines for Winterthur Gas & Diesel (WinGD). The new control system enables the control of the world's largest dual-fuel marine engine: the "Winterthur Gas & Diesel 12X92DF". Thanks to natural gas operation, the ships save 20%CO2, as well as more than 90% NOx and particulate matter emissions.

  • Situation

    The combustion of gas and diesel (dual-fuel) in the same engine requires a particularly reliable, dynamic and precise control system. Engine control systems are available "off the shelf" on the market. However, such closed systems limit the ability to innovate and often mean a "vendor lock-in".

  • Solution SCS

    The control system is based on modular hardware which, thanks to FPGA technology, allows flexible evaluation of the sensors and precise control of valves and ignition. In addition, a powerful processor enables the development of complex control algorithms and a secure connection to the cloud.

  • Added value

    The control platform enables WinGD to provide simple commissioning, transparent and reliable operation as well as many expansion options. It thus forms the basis for future innovations.

Project insights

The CMA CGM Jaques Saade is one of the largest and greenest container ships in the world. Since October 2020, the ship has been sailing with the world's most powerful 12-cylinder dual-fuel marine engine: the 12X92DF from Winterthur Gas & Diesel (WinGD). It must be possible to control 85,000 hp precisely and reliably. SCS has developed a control system for this purpose.

The ship's engine burns both natural gas (LNG, liquid natural gas) and diesel. By burning natural gas, emissions can be significantly reduced: 20% lessCO2, 90% less nitrogen oxides (NOx) and virtually no sulphur oxides (SOx) and particulate matter (PM). The engine makes a significant contribution to reducing greenhouse gas and pollutant emissions in the transport sector. It is also ahead of the times: regulations that will be introduced in the marine sector in the future are already fulfilled today.

Powered by the world's largest dual-fuel marine engine: the container ship CMA CGM Jaques Saade. Image: Cmacgm13 via Wikimedia
Powered by the world's most powerful dual-fuel marine engine: the container ship CMA CGM Jaques Saade. Image: Cmacgm13 via Wikimedia
The 12X92DF marine engine weighs 2000 tonnes and is the size of a family home. Image: WinGD
The 12X92DF marine engine weighs 2000 tonnes and is the size of a family home. Image: WinGD
Natural gas enables CO2 reductions of more than 20 percent and NOx, SOx and particulate matter reductions of more than 90 percent compared to diesel combustion. Image: WinGD
Natural gas enables CO2 reductions of more than 20 percent and NOx, SOx and particulate matter reductions of more than 90 percent compared to diesel combustion. Image: WinGD

The engine weighs 2000 tonnes and it is absolutely central that it can be operated and controlled efficiently and safely at all times. This is only possible with a customised control system. SCS has developed the hardware, FPGA firmware and software for a distributed system for this purpose. On the control system, the sophisticated control and optimisation algorithms of WinGD can be calculated in real time, which enables operation at the optimal operating point at all times.

The control system consists of various modules that can be combined to suit any type of motor. The modules communicate via two redundant Ethernet rings, which ensure secure communication even if one cylinder fails. On each cylinder control unit (CCU), there are dozens of sensor inputs as well as powerful control outputs for the dynamic regulation of the electromechanical valves. On the gateway control unit (GTU), there are communication interfaces to the internet, to the control bridge and to other peripherals, as well as a firewall to ensure cyber security.

After a joint planning phase with WinGD, SCS created the control system in less than 12 months, going through the complete process from specification to completion of the hardware. The focus was always on quality and traceable engineering processes. This is also how the ship classification by Bureau Veritas was achieved in the first attempt.

The engine achieves an output of 85,000 hp at 80 revolutions per minute. The valves are controlled with microsecond precision. Image: WinGD
The engine achieves an output of 85,000 hp at 80 revolutions per minute. The valves are controlled with microsecond precision. Image: WinGD
The Cylinder Control Unit (CCU) enables local measurements as well as dynamic control of the engine valves directly on each cylinder. Image: SCS
The Cylinder Control Unit (CCU) enables local measurements as well as dynamic control of the engine valves directly on each cylinder. Image: SCS
After successful certification of the control system and extensive sea trials, the first container ship with SCS control system has just arrived in Europe. Image: geni via Wikimedia

We are very pleased that WinGD has passed the final tests with the completion of the "Gas Trial" in October 2020 and that the first of nine planned ships has made the crossing to Europe. SCS is already working on further developments in cooperation with WinGD.

Technical details on the engine and the control system can be found in the following Winterthur Gas & Diesel publications:

Related projects

SOC/FPGA: 4D full-range radar

The 4D Radar developed by ZF supports the development of safe vehicles through the generated high-resolution point cloud. The team from ... learn more

Embedded electronics and app for watches

Zurich-based startup Aramedes aims to build watches that combine traditional watchmaking craftsmanship with cutting-edge technology, ... learn more

Retrofits - Fit for the future

A retrofit is a modernisation of a system by retrofitting partial components. This allows costs to be saved in an environmentally friendly way. SCS has ... learn more

FPGA based driver assistance systems

Camera-based driver assistance systems must be able to process video images in real time. SCS has developed various image processing algorithms such as ... learn more

Secure communication thanks to the V-ZUG PKI from SCS

Digitalisation enables new business opportunities. These new opportunities also bring new challenges. The devices are the ... learn more
Show all projects
David Gschwend High Performance Systems How can I help you?

Steuerung für den stärksten Schiffsmotor der Welt

Embedded Software FPGA Entwicklung Hardware Umwelt

SCS hat für Winterthur Gas & Diesel (WinGD) ein vielseitiges Kontrollsystem für Verbrennungsmotoren entwickelt. Das neue Kontrollsystem ermöglicht die Steuerung des weltgrössten Dual-Fuel Schiffsmotor: des «Winterthur Gas & Diesel 12X92DF». Dank Erdgas-Betrieb sparen die Schiffe 20% CO2, sowie mehr als 90% NOx- und Feinstaub-Emissionen.

  • Situation

    Die Verbrennung von Gas und Diesel (Dual-Fuel) im gleichen Motor verlangt eine besonders zuverlässige, dynamische und präzise Steuerung. Auf dem Markt sind zwar Motor-Steuerungen “ab Stange” erhältlich. Solche geschlossene Systeme limitieren jedoch die Innovationsfähigkeit und bedeuten häufig einen "Vendor Lock-in".

  • Lösung SCS

    Das Kontrollsystem basiert auf einer modularen Hardware, welche dank FPGA Technik eine flexible Auswertung der Sensoren sowie eine präzise Ansteuerung von Ventilen und Zündung erlaubt. Daneben ermöglicht ein leistungsfähiger Prozessor die Entwicklung von komplexen Kontrollalgorithmen sowie eine sichere Anbindung an die Cloud.

  • Mehrwert

    Die Steuerungs-Plattform ermöglicht WinGD eine einfache Inbetriebnahme, einen transparenten und zuverlässigen Betrieb sowie viele Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten. Damit bildet sie die Basis für zukünftige Innovationen.

Projekteinblicke

Die CMA CGM Jaques Saade ist eines der grössten und grünsten Containerschiffe der Welt. Seit Oktober 2020 fährt das Schiff mit dem weltweit stärksten 12-Zylinder Dual-Fuel Schiffsmotor: dem 12X92DF von Winterthur Gas & Diesel (WinGD). 85’000 PS müssen präzise und zuverlässig gesteuert werden können. Dafür hat die SCS ein Kontrollsystem entwickelt.

Der Schiffsmotor verbrennt sowohl Erdgas (LNG, liquid natural gas) wie auch Diesel. Durch die Verbrennung von Erdgas können die Emissionen markant gesenkt werden: 20% weniger Ausstoss von CO2, 90% weniger Ausstoss von Stickoxiden (NOx) und praktisch  keinen Ausstoss von Schwefeloxiden (SOx) und Feinstaub (PM). Der Motor leistet einen massgeblichen Beitrag zur Reduktion der Treibhausgas- und Schadstoff-Emissionen im Transportsektor. Zudem ist er der Zeit voraus: Regulationen, welche im Marine-Bereich in Zukunft eingeführt werden, erfüllt er bereits heute.

Wird vom weltgrössten Dual-Fuel Schiffsmotor angetrieben: das Containerschiff CMA CGM Jaques Saade. Bild: Cmacgm13 via Wikimedia
Wird vom stärksten Dual-Fuel Schiffsmotor der Welt angetrieben: das Containerschiff CMA CGM Jaques Saade. Bild: Cmacgm13 via Wikimedia
Der Schiffsmotor 12X92DF ist 2000 Tonnen schwer und so gross wie ein Einfamilienhaus. Bild: WinGD
Der Schiffsmotor 12X92DF ist 2000 Tonnen schwer und so gross wie ein Einfamilienhaus. Bild: WinGD
Erdgas ermöglicht CO2-Reduktionen von mehr als 20 Prozent sowie NOx, SOx und Feinstaub-Reduktionen von über 90 Prozent gegenüber der Verbrennung von Diesel. Bild: WinGD
Erdgas ermöglicht CO2-Reduktionen von mehr als 20 Prozent sowie NOx, SOx und Feinstaub-Reduktionen von über 90 Prozent gegenüber der Verbrennung von Diesel. Bild: WinGD

Der Motor wiegt 2000 Tonnen und es ist absolut zentral, dass er jederzeit effizient und sicher betrieben und gesteuert werden kann. Das ist nur durch ein massgeschneidertes Kontrollsystem möglich. Die SCS hat dafür die Hardware, FPGA-Firmware und Software für ein verteiltes System entwickelt. Auf dem Kontrollsystem können die ausgeklügelten Steuerungs- und Optimierungs-Algorithmen von WinGD in Echtzeit gerechnet werden, was jederzeit den Betrieb am optimalen Arbeitspunkt ermöglicht.

Das Kontrollsystem besteht aus verschiedenen Modulen, welche für jeden Motortyp passend zusammengestellt werden können. Die Module kommunizieren über zwei redundante Ethernet-Ringe, welche eine sichere Kommunikation selbst bei Ausfall eines Zylinders sicherstellen. Auf jeder cylinder control unit (CCU) befinden sich neben dutzenden Sensoreingängen auch kraftvolle Steuerausgänge für die dynamische Regelung der elektromechanischen Ventile. Auf der gateway control unit (GTU) befindet sich neben Kommunikationsschnittstellen ins Internet, zur Steuerbrücke und zu weiterer Peripherie auch eine Firewall zur Gewährleistung der Cyber Security.

Nach einer gemeinsamen Planungsphase mit WinGD hat SCS das Kontrollsystem in weniger als 12 Monaten erstellt und dabei den vollständigen Prozess von Spezifikation bis zur Fertigstellung der Hardware durchlaufen. Im Fokus standen stets die Qualität und nachvollziehbare Engineering-Prozesse. So konnte auch die Schiffsklassifikation durch Bureau Veritas im ersten Anlauf erlangt werden.

Der Motor erreicht bei 80 Umdrehungen pro Minute eine Leistung von 85'000 PS. Die Ventile werden mit Mikrosekunden-Präzision angesteuert. Bild: WinGD
Der Motor erreicht bei 80 Umdrehungen pro Minute eine Leistung von 85’000 PS. Die Ventile werden mit Mikrosekunden-Präzision angesteuert. Bild: WinGD
Die Cylinder Control Unit (CCU) ermöglicht lokale Messungen sowie eine dynamische Ansteuerung der Motor-Ventile direkt auf jedem Zylinder. Bild: SCS
Die Cylinder Control Unit (CCU) ermöglicht lokale Messungen sowie eine dynamische Ansteuerung der Motor-Ventile direkt auf jedem Zylinder. Bild: SCS
Nach der erfolgreichen Zertifizierung der Steuerung sowie ausführlichen Sea Trials ist das erste Containerschiff mit SCS Kontrollsystem soeben in Europa angekommen. Bild: geni via Wikimedia

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass WinGD mit dem Abschluss des «Gas Trial» im Oktober 2020 die letzten Tests bestanden hat und das erste von neun geplanten Schiffen die Überfahrt nach Europa angetreten konnte. Die SCS arbeitet in Zusammenarbeit mit WinGD bereits an Weiterentwicklungen.

Technische Details zum Motor und zur Steuerung finden sich in den folgenden Publikationen von Winterthur Gas & Diesel:

Verwandte Projekte

Retrofits – Fit für die Zukunft

Ein Retrofit ist eine Modernisierung eines Systems durch Nachrüstung von Teilkomponenten. Dadurch lassen sich umweltschonend Kosten sparen. SCS hat ... mehr erfahren
Alle Projekte anzeigen
David Gschwend High Performance Systems Wie kann ich Ihnen weiterhelfen?